Susumu Yokota and Ken Ishii albums set for 30th anniversary reissues on MUSICMINE

Two classic Japanese techno albums, by Susumu Yokota and Ken Ishii, are set to be reissued this September to mark their respective 30th anniversaries.

Tokyo label MUSICMINE will oversee the updated release of Ishii's 'Reference To Difference' and Yokota's 'Acid Mt. Fuji'. The reissue of the former will mark the first time that the album's full original tracklist has been made available on vinyl outside of Japan, while 'Acid Mt. Fuji' will appear in expanded form.

Both albums have been remastered for their respective reissues, which will be released on 6th September. You can listen to both the 2024 remaster of Ishii's 'Fading Sky' and Yokota's 'Kinoko' below.

Combining elements of ambient music, techno and IDM, 'Reference To Difference' marked Ishii's second studio album, and originally came out on Sublime Records, a subsidiary of MUSICMINE. 'Acid Mt. Fuji' was also Yokota's second studio album, and originally came out on Sublime too. The influential producer passed away in 2015.

In 2022, two albums by Yokota, originally released under his Stevia alias, got their first-ever vinyl reissue.